My “go to” diet for Summer…




I think the most popular questions that I get asked is: What food do I eat? What excercises I do? And what supplements do I take? To be quite honest the answer to each varies between the time of year. I eat more on the healthy side because I do genuinely love food that is healthy. However, generally I eat what I want. I just stay purposely conscious of the portions I eat. Like any one who knows me, knows I LOVE me some pizza, so if I want pizza… gosh darn’t Ill eat pizza. Now does that mean I’m eating a whole pizza to myself (back in my younger years trust and believe that was a legit thing) NO! But I will have a slice or two. This rule typically governs my eating habits for most of the year taking into consideration that I do workout regularly. In doing so I maintain a good weight. There is a saying that “Summer bodies are made in the winter.” Usually this applies to the ones who aren’t active at all during the year but want to be bikini ready just for summer so they workout all winter to be ready for summer. Well for me since I workout daily my “summer body” is made in the Spring. During this time I change up my diet and workout routine to slim down 5-10 pounds not only for Summer but for my anniversary which is coming up in the next Month on June 12th and Im sooo excited!! Since my anniversary is in summer, wherever hubby and I go usually requires less clothes and lots of bikinis. So obvi I would want to be in tip top shape. Most of my supplements I get from Target because I like the savings I receive when using my Target Red debit card. Its all the benefits of the Target Red credit card except it is linked to your bank account and you spend your own money so you dont owe money lol! #WinWin. You can get yours HERE.

 

Below are all the supplements I take as well as why I take them and what I eat to get me ready for summer…

C4 Pre-workout

I take this 30 minutes before I workout. This gives you more energy and helps you to perform your workouts in a more effective way.

BCAA

Branched Chained Amino Acids  promote muscle protein synthesis, increase muscle growth and prevent fatigue while working out. It also prevents muscle breakdown by creating a fuel bank source for muscles being worked out during exercise. I drink this during and after my workouts. The taste is pretty similar to that of gatorade.

Glutamine Capsules

Glutamine is the single amino acid in the body that is the most abundant. Once synthesized it will move protein into the muscle cells which help the muscle grow. However, during long intense exercise your glutamine levels deplete faster then your body can replenish them. This limits the way the body receives and distributes protein which causes muscle breakdown. Taking glutamine will deliver the glutamine you need quickly and effectively. I take 2 capsules daily. 1capsule, 30 minutes before my workout along with my C4 pre-workout and 1 capsule 30 minutes before my lunch.

Slender Blend Protein Shake

If you follow me on Snapchat then you know how much I LOVE This protein powder from Protein World! It is a low calorie, non GMO and is vegetarian, soy free, gluten free, diabetic suited, kosher and halal. Ive tried so many protein shakes and this one is the only one that doesn’t actually taste like protein. You can also use it as a meal replacement, I mix the powder and 400 mls of water for dinner twice out of the week. Normally I take this right after I workout and add half a banana and a strawberry to the strawberry flavored powder in the blender. I also love the chocolate flavored powder and will add half a banana and a tablespoon of peanut butter. Super yummy!

CLA

Conjugated Linoleic Acid otherwise known as Omega 6-fatty acid is one of the two types of essential fatty acids (Omega 3-fatty acid being the second) that help the body increase metabolism. A faster metabolic rate will help you to lose weight much more quickly as the body is burning a greater amount of energy every minute of the day. Even tho one’s metabolism is partially determined by genetics, everyone has the power to increase their metabolism to burn more calories throughout the day. Taking CLA also boosts the immune system and keeps your cholesterol balanced. With diet and exercise this will help support your overall weight management plan. I take these 3 times daily 30 minutes before a meal or shake. Once with my shake after my workout in the morning, second with my lunch along with the Glutamine and third before my dinner or shake at night.

One A Day Woman’s Multivitamin

Obviously a good healthy diet should include a multivitamin. Realistically you can get all the vitamins and minerals you need from a healthy diet. I love taking One A Days to supplement my diet. As directed I take it once daily after my morning workout along with the CLA before my shake.

Workout Routine

I started working out with a personal trainer about a year and a half after I gave birth to lil dolly in 2010. Ive pretty much always had a trainer up until the middle of last year. During that time of course I learnt a lot about fitness and nutrition and thats why I believe it is a lot easier for me to go to the gym daily without a trainer. I know it can be hard to go especially if you really don’t now what the heck you are doing. My overall fitness regime includes 10-15 minutes of cardio (treadmill, elliptical or my personal fave stair master *I snap a pic daily lol*) followed by strength training/weight lifting. Here are a FEW of my fave excersises:

Glute Master

I will do 3-4 sets of 20 reps set at 100lbs

Leg Extension

I will do 3-4 sets of 20 reps at 80lbs

Seated Leg Curl

I will do 3-4 sets of 20 reps at 100lbs

Abdominal Dumbbell Side Bend

I will do 4-5 sets of 25 reps at 45lbs (I like using the free weights)

Reverse Sit-ups On Incline Bench

I will do 4-5 sets of 20 reps (I like to place the bench flat tho)

Cable Hip Abduction

I will do 4 sets of 12 reps at 20lbs


Meal Routine


I can’t stress enough how important meal planning is. It might seem time consuming (sometimes I feel like prepping and eating is a chore lol) but trust me it will work out to your benefit in the end. When I come home from grocery shopping I separate all my meat according to serving size for each meal in freezer safe ziplock bags. Usually I take out what I want to cook for dinner in the morning and leave in the sink to thaw during the day.  I do my meal prep at night since I have to cook dinner anyways for hubby, dolly and Anjee mama. After dinner is made I put my portion in a meal prep container for my lunch the next day. I usually drink a protein shake for dinner. On nights where I dont I will just make extra. I feel this is the easiest way for me because I’m not going out of my way to prep since I would be cooking dinner anyways. Breakfast i make fresh daily with the exception of cutting whatever veggies or fruits I will add at night and put them in a container in the fridge so its easier for me in the morning. An example of my full day meal plan is:

Breakfast (usually about 2 hours after my protein shake)

1/2 cup Scrambled egg whites

cut zucchini and squash lightly sautéed in pure virgin olive oil with salt and pepper

2 slices of turkey bacon

Lunch (usually what I made for dinner the previous night)

grilled salmon sprinkled with a pinch of garlic salt and pepper

4 cloves of asparagus lightly sautéed in virgin olive oil sprinkled with a pinch of salt and pepper

brown rice

Dinner

Protein shake

My all time favorite go to meal for lunch or dinner is a grilled chicken salad with two boiled eggs. Recently I have been loving the Doles Sunflower crunch chopped salad kit. My friend turned me on to this and I am obsessed! I will add the chicken and boiled eggs to it. The dressing it comes with is like a sweet onion balsamic dressing which I like. However I prefer ranch dressing, I think it goes really well with the eggs. **Useful tip: To ensure portion control rather then pour a bunch of dressing on your salad dip each bite slightly into the dressing. That way you will taste the dressing with every bite and you will be amazed as to how much dressing is stillest over when your done.**

I hope this information helps out with your fitness goals. I want to thank each and every one of you that has ever sent me a DM saying how inspiring I am to you. That keeps me highly motivated. My aspiration is to be an inspiration. Also let me know how you like this information and if you want more content like this on the blog. Please feel free to share any of your fitness stories with me as well. I love hearing them. As always, thank you so much for stopping by, until next time…

Tiara’s Up,

Tiffany

Leave a Reply

